Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Element XR7-gctid819703

Hi all,

New to the forum, considering buying an Element XR7 and just wondering if anyone here owns one and could comment on their experiences. Specifically, I'm wondering if the standard 150HP outboard is enough to power a skier/wakeboarder off the back if the boat is full of 12 or so passengers? Also, is there any value to the snap-on carpet and seagrass options or whether a bare deck is the better way to go. And finally, any thoughts on the heads -- portable or pump-out?

Grateful for any feedback!

I have extensive experience with this boat. The 150 is barely adequate for a small family of four and a few guests. THe 200 is table stakes, but if you have the budget, the 250 totally transforms the boat. Butter smooth, whisper quiet, and PLENTY of torque for pulling skiiers....especially when it's fully loaded. It also includes hydraulic steering and digital throttle and shit, which again, transforms the experience.

Flooring: Up to you, but for me, it would be seagrass or nothing...literally. Carpet will get dirty and is hard to clean unless you have a pressure washer. Also, consider a teak mat from Seadeck instead - it's cool, cushioned, and maintenance free. http://www.seadek.com/

Finally, pump out head EACH TIME, EVERY TIME. You will only need to clean the porta potty out once to understand what I mean. But again, a porta potty beats a bucket over the side.
    Matt Train
    BOC Site Team
    Chicagoland, IL

Comment

Hey, thank you for the fast reply. I really appreciate your feedback.

Does the seagrass not get dirty the way the carpet does? Does it hold up well to foot traffic? How do you think it would fare with a big dog (golden retriever) on board a fair amount of the time?

Re the head, I gather you're advocating the pump-out over the porta-potti?

What do you think of the automatic bilge pump?