Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Looking at 1993 2452-gctid819534

Hi Everybody

I have been surfing this site for several years dreaming of the day when I would be able to purchase a 2452.

Finally the time has arrived and I will be going to look at one and hopefully purchase, I have spoken with the current owner a couple of times and he is holding it for me until I can make the drive of over 6 hours (unfortunately that is not until Aug 11th).

Are there any major concerns which I will need to pay special attention to on the 1993 model with a 5.0 alpha 1?

I have owned several boats in the past and I feel confident in performing my own survey but I was just wondering if there are any particulars with this model.

Thank you and any input would be helpful

You should look for a wet or rotten transom, wet engine stringers and bulkhead aft. of fueltank.

Most likely you will find this problems and do expect the fueltank to start leaking in the future, these are the most common problems.

I just finished rebuilding my own 2452 from 1995, which suffered all this things.

Good luck:P
    1995 Bayliner 2452
    Alpha 1 Gen II
    2016 - 5.7 Vortec 4BBL
    Full Closed Cooling

Comment

20 years the fuel tank leaks.

Do a pressure test of the tank.

Go to the main forums page scroll down to the owners list, click, and then to the 2452 thread, enjoy.
      Be good, be happy, for tomorrow is promised to no man !

1994 2452, 5.0l, Alpha gen. 2 drive. Sold ! Sold ! Sold !

'86 / 19' Citation cuddy, Merc. 3.0L / 140 hp 86' , stringer drive. Sold ! Sold ! Sold !

Manalapan N.J

Comment

Thank you for the heads up.

I had heard about the problems with the transom but was unaware of the issue with bulkhead and stringers.

Now I know exactly where to poke around.

Comment

FWIW any boat of that age can have the same issues. Ask me how I know :silly:
          Dave
          Edmonds, WA
          "THE FIX"
          '93 2556