Need Electrical help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need Electrical help

I have a 1996 3587 Bayliner. I have 2 50 Amp 125V/250V inlets. I am on a dual 30 amp pedestal.. So I have a spliter that connect to the x2 30AMP outlets on the pedestal to one 125V/240V cord then another spliter that goes into the boat 50AMP 125V/240V inlets. So yes, I have just one cord going to the boat. This should be more than enough to power the boat. However, when running both A/C units (both on different lines) the breaker on the pedestal trips. When I run just one it's fine. Not sure why the breaker keeps tripping. What is the solution? I spent a lot of money getting everything replaced, plugs, cords, new breaker on the panel and labor. Only to have the same result of a breaker tripping. After a lot of time and money I was told just go to a 50 amp pedestal. Please help.

I'm not an expert but it sounds like your AC is pulling more amperage than the 2 x 30 amp breaker will allow. The boat has 2 x 50 amp inlets so looks like your trying to pull 100 amp from 60 being supplied.
    P/C Bob Hicks JN
    Dock Holiday, 1992 Bayliner 3888 Double Cabin Flybridge Cruiser
    Twin Hino W04TI 210 HP Diesels with Hurth HSW630A 2.0:1 Trannys
    Westerbeke 8.0 BTD-614 8KW Genset
    Avon 9 ft 6 in Tender with a Tohatsu M8B 8HP outboard
    Currently moored at Stones in Nanamio, B.C.

Comment

Thanks for your input Bob. I am thinking my A/C units might need to be replaced as well. i am going to dock to a 50 amp pedestal thins weekend and see what happens.

Comment