Trying to figure out what live aboard expenses?-gctid427201

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Trying to figure out what live aboard expenses?-gctid427201

A little background first. I am a retired Electronics Engineer, worked in heavy industries all my working life. A Vetren, served from 1968 to 1972. I have owned and run a charter service for the last seven years. I have owned several boats. A wooden duck boat when I was 14 years old, a canoe when 21, a 16 foot runabout 115 hp outboard, a 19 ft runabout, a 2355, a 285, and a 35 ft Viking convertible. Still have the 285 and the Viking. The admiral and I are thinking we would like to live aboard as it might be financially beneficial in our later years. I have been doing all my own maintenance on my boats.

I know that I will not pay real estate taxes. We own two vehicles and would trim that to one, Less insurance. No house insurance, but that might be a trade off as I will have to have boat insurance. My electric bill has been about $200 and that would be offset because I have to plug the boat in. I pay $75 per year for garbage/recycle. I have the maintenance on the house and property, but I have not nailed that down yet.

What am I not thinking of and what has been some of your costs so I can make an informed decision.

Capt. Greg

Fish Tales wrote:
    A little background first. I am a retired Electronics Engineer, worked in heavy industries all my working life. A Vetren, served from 1968 to 1972. I have owned and run a charter service for the last seven years. I have owned several boats. A wooden duck boat when I was 14 years old, a canoe when 21, a 16 foot runabout 115 hp outboard, a 19 ft runabout, a 2355, a 285, and a 35 ft Viking convertible. Still have the 285 and the Viking. The admiral and I are thinking we would like to live aboard as it might be financially beneficial in our later years. I have been doing all my own maintenance on my boats.