Wifi(39)d LG fridge/freezer?-gctid826611

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Wifi(39)d LG fridge/freezer?-gctid826611

I was just at my brothers place. When I logged into his router to check my email, I notice an LG wifi connection. He explained that LG has now wifi'd their fridge/freezers so they can trouble shoot easier. He thought it was a good idea. My thought was, 'If LG needs to monitor your fridge that much, I'd buy a different brand."

We bought the new at the time LG 3-door (similar to the door in the door model) 3 years ago and have had no issues with it. Since they either thaw the frozen stuff or freeze the thawed stuff, it's not rocket science to know when it isn't working properly. Why would I want LG to have an open access to my network?

Good idea or just plain stupid?
    "B on D C", is a 1989 2459 Trophy Offshore HT, OMC 5.7L, Cobra OD, Yamaha 15hp kicker. Lots of toys! I'm no mechanic, just a blue water sailer and woodworker who loves deep sea fishing.
    MMSI: 367637220
    HAM: KE7TTR
    TDI tech diver
    BoD Puget Sound Anglers North Olympic Peninsula Chapter
    Kevin

Big brother wants to know our eating habits. The next version will have a camera inside to see what we are eating.
    1992 4588

Seadoo Wake 170

Comment

The Samsung has a camera inside. https://www.samsung.com/us/explore/f...ator/overview/
      Joel
      1987 3818 Hino 175
      "Knotty Girl"
      Prince Rupert B.C.

Comment

I bought an LG Frig last year. It has a small microphone/speaker sensor mounted in the upper right hand corner hinge. If the frig starts having problems you call an 800 number, Hit a key sequence on the frig and the sensor downloads the problem code. Then the 800 number does a diagnosis and tells you what component is at fault. I think this is a pretty cool system and they don't need wifi and the associated issues. I have not had to use it yet, hopefully never will.
        Gibraltar, Mi.
        1986- 3870- Hino 175's