Amazing show on eating fish!-gctid806134

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Amazing show on eating fish!-gctid806134

Best-selling author and lifelong fisherman Paul Greenberg spends a year eating fish at breakfast, lunch and dinner to help answer the question: "What fish should I eat that's good for me and good for the planet?" Diagnosed with high cholesterol and high blood pressure, he learns the health benefits of eating fish. He also discovers some of the travesties currently going on worldwide in the fishing industry. Well worth watch!

http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/frontline/fi...h-on-my-plate/
    "B on D C", is a 1989 2459 Trophy Offshore HT, OMC 5.7L, Cobra OD, Yamaha 15hp kicker. Lots of toys! I'm no mechanic, just a blue water sailer and woodworker who loves deep sea fishing.
    MMSI: 367637220
    HAM: KE7TTR
    TDI tech diver
    BoD Puget Sound Anglers North Olympic Peninsula Chapter
    Kevin

I watched it yesterday and I'd add one caution. He tells you it's good to eat shellfish because they're filter feeders who clean the water, so the more of them we farm the cleaner the oceans will be. While it's true that they clean the water, they do so by collecting pollutants and toxins within their own bodies. So it's generally only shellfish from waters which are already clean which are safe to eat. The piers and beaches around Southern California are peppered with signs saying not to eat the mussels.

[img size=800]http://mirror-us-ga1.gallery.hd.org/_exhibits/places-and-sights/_more2001/_more09/US-CA-Los-Angeles-Venice-Beach-sign-warning-that-mussels-from-these-waters-are-not-fit-for-human-consumption-MB.jpg[/img]
    1994 2556, 350 MAG MPI Horizon, Bravo 2

Comment

"Solandri" post=806140 wrote: