Engine mount bolt - serious or not?-gctid465349

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Engine mount bolt - serious or not?-gctid465349

I was inspecting the engine on my 195 discovery 2007 and noticed that one of the engine mount bolts seems to have started to come out. I'm not a mechanic, but I'm trying to figure a few things out on my own right now as my mechanic for years passed away this winter. I'm trying to get this thing ready for the season.It looks like one of the rear engine mount bolts is coming out, but I have no idea if this is actually what is occurring. If this is the case, what is the remedy and do you think I could manage this on my own? I've inserted a few images of the bolt.Thanks

[img]/media/kunena/attachments/vb/769848=36433-IMG_0480.jpg[/img]

I think that's the bushing separating from the mount. YES, you should have that repaired. It can affect the alignment of the engine to the drive and cause excessive wear of the coupler, u-joints and bearings.

Probably a pretty inexpensive fix, but definitely needs to get looked at.
    Custom CNC Design And Dash Panels

iBoatNW

1980 CHB Europa 42 Trawler- "Honey Badger"

Comment

I agree with Mike.

These not only control side to side alignment, but they also "check" engine torque.

Rick E. Gresham, Oregon
      2850 Bounty Sedan Flybridge model
      Twin 280 HP 5.7's w/ Closed Cooling
      Volvo Penta DuoProp Drives
      Kohler 4 CZ Gen Set

Comment

Is this a repair that I could handle. I know how to use a wrench and bolts and could get new spacers, etc

Thanks a lot for helping

Comment

cant hurt to try at this point. Frist I would see if it will unscrew? you may have to take the weight off that side of the eng first, Get the bad part in our hand then get a new one, there may be a alinement thing also?
          1988 3270
          135 hinos
          Seldovia ALASKA
          KEVINS UPHOLSTERY
          KEVINSBOATTOPS.COM
          Marine canvas/Upholstery
          since 1975