LiFePo battery upgrade

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

LiFePo battery upgrade

Has anyone actually upgraded their battery system? I've read the comparison charts, but I'm wondering if anyone has actually done it.

I'm looking at replacing my FLA single 8D for LiFePo, and upgrading the charger (DC to DC) but wondering if I'm missing anything. FWIW, I'm upgrading the starter batteries to AGM since I'm not good at maintaining the water levels and I'd much prefer a set it and forget it approach.
    I'm going to be upgrading all the ceiling lights to LED but we constantly have battery issues, we've drained the 8D to nothing a few times, so I'm also looking at replacing the house 8D to at least 75% of the amp hours in LiFePo to have a bigger bank.

Any suggestions? warnings?

Yes I just did.

Depending on engine size, there are only a few Li batteries that can handle crancking. Battleborn I believe have them.

Below is what I did:

https://www.baylinerownersclub.org/f...ar-and-lithium

If you don't use solar, there are other good DC to DC chargers.

Comment

I am in the process of doing just that.

Went with dual 300ah LifePo4 batteries for a total of 600ah (big boat needs lots of juice)

Dual 30a dc to dc chargers for a total output of 60a (Victron Energy)

A dedicated 80a lithium shore power charger. (Progressive Dynamics)

The remaining 5 group 31 1000cca batteries remain lead acid and are serviced by the original charger. They supply the engines, bow and stern thrusters and generator.

I remain with lead acid as lithium is not great at starting, plus they are always full relatively inexpensive and really never require water top off.
      Cheers, Hans
      2007 Carver 41 CMY
      Twin Volvo D6-370
      Montreal, Canada
      Midnight Sun I Photos

Comment