Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Engines stalling - Bayliner 3058 Motoryacht - 30'

Hi there gang.

This is my first time posting there. I just bought a Bayliner 3058 Motoryacht - 30'. Its great but I'm having a problem. The engines keep stalling when at idle...but only when in gear. (I could be crazy here...) I let them warm up and they are just fine when in neutral ...but as soon as i put it in gear it goes....this is usually when I am docking in my hard to get to slip. It's hard to notice because the sound of the other engine is still going....but then as soon as I cant steer I usually know that it has gone....Could this just be the idle is adjusted wrong.....or something like bad spark plugs? I also heard the term AIC or something used a couple times.......any help would be appreciated. Nice to meet you all too. =)
    1991 - Bayliner 3058 Motoryacht - 30'

What engines do you have gas/diesel? size? AIC or do you mean IAC which is used on fuel injected gas engines?
    1997 Maxum 2400 SCR 5.7LX Bravo II

Mike

Comment

It has 2 x 5 liter mercruisers....both run on gas.....it was IAC's that my buddy was talking about but, the boat has carbs I thought....so would that rule out IAC's?? Your advice is much appreciated...

Comment

Shift interrupters or shift assist may have been what your buddy was referring to.
        The outdrives are Alpha gen 2’s correct?
        Dave
        Edmonds, WA
        "THE FIX"
        '93 2556 5.7 Bravo II 2.0:1 18 1/4x19 P
        (.030 over-Vortec top end-part closed cooled)
        The rebuild of my 2556 https://www.baylinerownersclub.org/f...76?view=thread
        Misc. projects thread
        https://www.baylinerownersclub.org/f...56-gctid789773

Comment

Originally posted by BaylinerCAN View Post
          It has 2 x 5 liter mercruisers....both run on gas.....it was IAC's that my buddy was talking about but, the boat has carbs I thought....so would that rule out IAC's?? Your advice is much appreciated...