Trying to understand the head system in a 87 ciera-gctid419332

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Trying to understand the head system in a 87 ciera-gctid419332

I cant quite understand how the above captioned works. I see the waste pipe from the head enters the top of the waste tank in the engine compartment. I also see a drain pipe from the bottom of the same tank comes off for a few inchs then tee's to the waste port on the aft deck which is capped and says 'waste'. The pipe continues from the tee about 8 inchs and terminates into a maceator pump which the pump then discharges via a small hose out the starboard side. The pump is hardwired directly to the 12 vdc buss under the panel at the helm. (no switch in line.)

So what triggers this pump "on" and shouldnt it grind the waste before the tank? I've rebuilt my entire house....several airplanes...and I repair electronics for a living but I can't figure out a marine head.....

Here's how it works assuming you have a manual pump toilet:

When the toilet is pumped, raw water flows to the toilet from a through hull fitting probably located in the engine compartment. There is a valve (seacock) attached to this fitting.

The manual pumping action moves the effluent from the toilet to the holding tank.

The holding tank is equipped with a pump-out pipe/hose that runs from the approximate bottom of the tank and terminates on the side deck and has a cap marked 'Waste'. An external suction pump is attached at this fitting and the effluent is sucked out. Pump out stations are located at most marinas and fuel docks.

There is an air vent attached to the holding tank that allows air flow in and out of the tank. As the tank fills, air is pushed out through the vent. The vent also allows air to flow into the tank during pump out. Atmospheric pressure is what allows the effluent to move to the pump.