No Raw Water Going Through

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

No Raw Water Going Through

Have a view of the video. No clue. The boat has been sitting for 4 months. Went to start it today, it ran, but couldn't get the raw water to flow. Took the pump apart, and it looks excellent, just like when I replaced it 6 running hours prior. Is there a seal or gasket between the lower and the upper units, that if it was missing, wouldn't allow the impeller pump to suck up water? Moreover, if there was one and it was missing, is the air leak below the waterline, such that the impeller would work? Can't figure out how this works in the water, but not connected to the hose.
    "B on D C", is a 1989 2459 Trophy Offshore HT, OMC 5.7L, Cobra OD, Yamaha 15hp kicker. Lots of toys! I'm no mechanic, just a blue water sailer and woodworker who loves deep sea fishing.
    MMSI: 367637220
    HAM: KE7TTR
    TDI tech diver
    BoD Puget Sound Anglers North Olympic Peninsula Chapter
    Kevin

When we fire up on the garden hose and water muffs, once the garden hose is supplying water, the muffs will typically leak water around the contact area.
    As the seawater pump begins to pull water in, we should see a change in the amount of water leaking around the muffs.
    In your video, I do not see a change in the amount of leaking water!

Things to consider:

is the impeller rotating (i.e., is it keyed to the shaft)?
    is it the correct impeller for the pump housing?
    is the lower gear unit's seawater path (to the upper unit) in good order?

Rick E. Gresham, Oregon
    2850 Bounty Sedan Flybridge model
    Twin 280 HP 5.7's w/ Closed Cooling
    Volvo Penta DuoProp Drives
    Kohler 4 CZ Gen Set

Comment

Originally posted by 2850Bounty View Post
      Things to consider:

is the impeller rotating (i.e., is it keyed to the shaft)?
      Yes.

is it the correct impeller for the pump housing?
      Yes, brand new Sierra housing, impeller, the works.