Exhaust Corrosion

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Exhaust Corrosion

So as a boating newbie I recently purchased a 2012 Bayliner 195 which had a major oil leak resulting in a seized engine. Engine was rebuilt and overhauled. When the exhaust was removed I noticed it had a lot of corrosion. The mechanic said the exhaust is ok and doesn't need replacing and since the overhaul the engine has worked smoothly.

I just had a look at the pictures from when the engine was removed prior to being overhauled and the exhausts didn't look pretty.

Any thoughts on if I should take the mechanics word that the exhausts are ok? Having read about hydrolocked engines I am paranoid to say the least.

Thanks

I would NEVER put old exhaust on a new engine. Unless maybe I knew they had maybe one season on them. Just me.
    1989 Avanti 3450 Sunbridge
    twin 454's
    MV Mar-Y-Sol
    1979 Bayliner Conquest 3150 hardtop ocean express.
    Twin chevy 350's inboard
    Ben- Jamin
    spokane Washington

Comment

You have the newer dry joint exhaust system mounted. It’s hard to tell from your pic (and I’m a little confused by the plumbing at the bottom of the manifold) but it may be a full closed system. If so your manifolds and spacers could last a long time. The exhaust elbows will require some attention. It’ll be much better than the older raw water cooled wet joint style. The only real way to tell is to pull the exhaust to examine.
      Dave
      Edmonds, WA
      "THE FIX"
      '93 2556 5.7 Bravo II 2.0:1 18 1/4x19 P
      (.030 over-Vortec top end-part closed cooled)
      The rebuild of my 2556 https://www.baylinerownersclub.org/f...76?view=thread
      Misc. projects thread
      https://www.baylinerownersclub.org/f...56-gctid789773

Comment