Total Newbie Questions-gctid409045

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Total Newbie Questions-gctid409045

Well, I've given my old/new project boat a good cleaning and she's starting to look more like a boat than a yard ornament. First off, some questions with pictures. There is box that says 'Shore Power' on the outside of the boat but I have no idea what type of cord is supposed to plug in there. Will this allow me to plug the boat into the house power (110 outlet) or is this some kind of special deal that only marinas have (see pics). Also, there on the starboard bow of the boat is this chrome tube thing sticking out (see pic). Should it have a cover? What is it for? What is the best way to get rid those brownish streaks on the side of the boat (see pic). The hook thing on the bow that the winch attaches to (see pic) looks like its not all the way in. Is this a huge problem? Will the boat sink or take on water without it being fixed. I'm thinking there should be a way on the inside of the boat to get to it. Sorry for all the questions and I probably sound like a total idiot by asking them but I also got different opinions on whether to keep the 3 year old gas or not.

Attached files [img]/media/kunena/attachments/vb/712861=30653-IMG_0648.JPG[/img] [img]/media/kunena/attachments/vb/712861=30654-IMG_0649.jpg[/img] [img]/media/kunena/attachments/vb/712861=30655-IMG_0650.JPG[/img] [img]/media/kunena/attachments/vb/712861=30656-IMG_0651.JPG[/img] [img]/media/kunena/attachments/vb/712861=30658-IMG_0655.JPG[/img]

1) Shore power powers your boat while at the dock, or at home with an adapter. Should power your frig, battery charger, stove, if so equiped, plugs etc. Yes, you can get the proper shore power cord from West Marine, or other such outlets.

2) No cover needed unless there is a hole thru the deck.

3) Elbow grease. Try a buffing compound. Believe it of not, if you have a magic erase (Mr. Clean product) work well also.