How strong is a bow eye?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How strong is a bow eye?

This being my first trailerable boat, I'm still learning about the retrieving aspect of it. My belief is that I need to extend my trailer tongue. A boating buddy just saw my electric winch and suggested I shouldn't have to.

Click image for larger version  Name:	BonDC 072017Web.JPG Views:	1 Size:	249.8 KB ID:	394781

My 1989 2459 weighs around 6300lbs loaded, and it has a vinyl bottom. I haul it on a bunk trailer with an electric winch. I also thoroughly rinse everything off when we pull.

So far, I've been backing in such that I only need to pull the boat up about 4' with the winch. That puts the bowsprit almost against the bow roller. The cable then pulls the bow eye up and over the bow roller plus about another 8". On our local ramps, that means I'm dropping my back truck wheels in about ⅓, ....though a few times I have heard the exhaust pipe glub-glub-glubbing so it could be a little bit more. However, every now and then - even though I rinse it - my trailer plug gets a good soaking of sea water. My thought was to just lengthen the tongue. Looking at the photo, do you think I should extend the hitch, or am I backing in too far?

My biggest concern is roughing up and/or wearing through the vinyl bottom. Should I be concerned?

Also, how hard can I pull on that boat eye, and how far up the bunks is about right?

JSYK, some guy at the ramp today, who owns a slightly smaller Grady-White, said I could likely hold the entire boat up by it. Seriously....??? 6300lbs on a ⅜" stainless ring bolted through fiberglass? Personally, I think he's out to lunch, .....but hey, I've been wrong before.
    "B on D C", is a 1989 2459 Trophy Offshore HT, OMC 5.7L, Cobra OD, Yamaha 15hp kicker. Lots of toys! I'm no mechanic, just a blue water sailer and woodworker who loves deep sea fishing.
    MMSI: 367637220
    HAM: KE7TTR
    TDI tech diver