SBC- Q-Effect

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

SBC- Q-Effect

I almost attached this to a thread (Will this engine work) but decided to start a new thread. I have read many threads on SBC and am not going to build my own but would like to purchase from MM. I believe that Bounty thinks that they do good work but the piston and head gaskets and ????need to be changed.

A little about myself and what i'm doing.

I have what Bayliner calls a 1986 2460 trophy with a 305 and VP 280. I have removed the motor/ outdrive and will be cutting the floor to remove the gas tank. I hope that I can refurbish the fuel tank once out but time will tell. I am NOT a Mechanic, I only turn bolts. I have spent many hours on a 19' Glasply- new transom, ok lets say from the chines up have been reglassed. Many hours of fairing.

I will be putting a 350 and adding (hopefully) a VP280 DP with trim.

I have read that MM will Build a Q-effect SBC but what do I need to know and talk to, so its built right or is there better idea. I live on Camano Island so Bellingham and Everett are both close if there is a trusted shop. Im not rolling in dough but don't what to go cheap either. I believe a well built SBC will in time save me money.

Thank you in advance.
    North Puget Sound/Camano Island
    1985 2460 Trophy
    VP280/305 Changing to 280/DP-350

Don't think MM will substitute the piston anymore, Rick will correct me if I'm wrong. You say your not a mechanic so I'd suggest having a Vortec marine engine built by a local shop or maybe one from summit that's backed with a warranty.

If I were going to the trouble of pulling out a questionable fuel tank I'd plan on replacing it with new along with all related hoses etc.
    Dave
    Edmonds, WA
    "THE FIX"
    '93 2556
    Carbureted 383 Vortec-Bravo II 2.0:1 18 1/4x19 P

The rebuild of my 2556 https://www.baylinerownersclub.org/f...76?view=thread
    Misc. projects thread
    https://www.baylinerownersclub.org/f...56-gctid789773