Switching from AL to Stainless Steel Prop

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Switching from AL to Stainless Steel Prop

Since I've dinged the crap out of 3 props in 3 years, I'm thinking about changing from an AL to a stainless steel prop. Has anyone else done this? And will the clutch dogs have an issue with the harder prop?

And if I were to go that way, is there a good, better best? I've been looking at the Solas HR 3 blade, and the Solas Titan HR 3 .....in a 14.75 x 17.
    Last edited by Jim_Gandee; 03-20-2018, 02:05 PM.
    "B on D C", is a 1989 2459 Trophy Offshore HT, OMC 5.7L, Cobra OD, Yamaha 15hp kicker. Lots of toys! I'm no mechanic, just a blue water sailer and woodworker who loves deep sea fishing.
    MMSI: 367637220
    HAM: KE7TTR
    TDI tech diver
    BoD Puget Sound Anglers North Olympic Peninsula Chapter
    Kevin

Sorry I cannot help with you exact boat as I have not had one.

But I have had 5 Solas Titan 4 blade SS props and they were great in quality,performance and finish.

I would definitely buy a Sola SS prop again if the need arose.
    Northport NY

Comment

Well if you are hitting bottom that regularly a SS may fair better but that energy will get transferred into the drive and may cause damage to it over time. IMO props are cheaper than buying a outdrive.
      1997 Maxum 2400 SCR 5.7LX Bravo II

Mike

Comment

Switching to a harder material will, more than likely, cause damage to the drive as the stainless is not as forgiving.

If you are boating in shallow waters I would most certainly stay with aluminum. Must less expensive to replace a prop yearly versus a drive.
        Phil, Vicky, Ashleigh & Sydney
        1998 3055 Ciera
        (yes, a 1998)
        Previous boat: 1993 3055
        Dream boat: 70' Azimut or Astondoa 72
        Sea Doo XP
        Sea Doo GTI SE
        Life is short. Boats are cool.
        The family that plays together stays together.
        Vice Commodore: Bellevue Yacht Club

Comment