Running portable generator?-gctid822978

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Running portable generator?-gctid822978

I have no electrical knowledge and hope someone can assist with a basic question. Our new to us 2001 3788 didn't come with a generator but does have a Xantrex inverter with (6) 6V batteries. When I plugged shorepower cords to the Honda 2000 generator the red light lit up on the AC panel, I took that as polarity issue and didn't turn on the breaker for fear of electrical damage.

What's an easy step I can do to diagnose the issue? I'd love to be able to run this portable generator to heat water and charge the batteries while on the hook. Thanks
    2001 3788 w/ 330 Cummins
    Seattle, WA

Got move to stop. You have a polarity issue probably in your adapter I'm guessing because you dint mention an issue with shore power. I'm guessing the generator doesn't have a 30 amp outlet and you are using a 30 th 15 amp adapter. Look carefully for some discoloration inside the connector holes. If you have a multi meter you could look for some crossover by using the ohm function. My next step would be to plug the shore power cord and adapter into a 15 amp outlet if you happen to have one or can adapt to. I'm one of "those guys" with all sorts of adapters. If the adapter checks out its time to look at how the generator outlets are wired. It may be that the line and neutral wires are not in the correct positions.
    P/C Pete
    Edmonds Yacht Club (Commodore 1993)
    1988 3818 "GLAUBEN”
    Hino EH700 175 Onan MDKD Genset
    MMSI 367770440

Comment

Thanks for the tips, I will check it out this afternoon after work. And yes, I am using a 15 to 30amp adaptor.
      2001 3788 w/ 330 Cummins
      Seattle, WA

Comment