98 Bayliner Avanti 4085 Battery Systems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

98 Bayliner Avanti 4085 Battery Systems

I'm new to the boat world and just got a 98 Avanti 4085 and everyday I"m learning with a new struggle.

Now I haven't got to shore power as I'm at a floating moor, and can't power up. Generator won't start up either.

I'm a sitting duck, bought a jumper cable kit to jump the 12v battery and still no go. The jumper didn't have enough juice.

I also ran jumper cables from the 8d to the 12v battery and couldn't get it to go. Generator starts up but then shuts down and I find it odd.

Seems like something causing to shut it down, so I'm gonna wait on troubleshooting it further until my mechanic is around.

Today I bought 2 new 12v 1000 cranking amp batteries since it's cheaper than the bow tow to give me a jump.

I was wondering if there is an emergency back up battery switch on the boat that is used for situations like this?

I have 4 batteries, 1 8D which I think runs the house power, 2 12V which I think are for the engines and 1 generator.

Where is my 4th battery? I can't find that one anywhere.

Any help would be great.
    Last edited by Jim_Gandee; 02-16-2020, 11:34 PM.

boat US isn't around where you are?

we would need more info on this. you might want to fill out your profile signature.

check for any corroded rusted cable connections,

emergency situations like this, you should have 2 separate starting batteries for each engine..

install 2 new batteries, see how she goes.
    Joon, Kathy, Jaden & Tristan
    Uniflite 42 AC, DD 671N
    93 3058 sold
    92 2855 (day boat)
    91 Fourwinns 205 (lake boat)
    Longbranch WA
    Life is Good

Comment