Volvo Penta 280 Water Intake Hose Connector Replacement-gctid816574

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Volvo Penta 280 Water Intake Hose Connector Replacement-gctid816574

Im new to boat work, so Im looking for any advice that may be out there. This seems simple enough, but if there's something I dont realize, better to find out BEFORE I take this apart! If anyone has advice about replacing this, or thoughts on my 2 questions below, I'd really appreciate the info.

im getting my 86 Bayliner Capri ready for the water and when I started it up (with muffs) I realized that the water intake hose wasnt connected (making the muffs pointless I think). At least I think this is the water intake hose... Pictures below, you may need to zoom a little. After looking at parts diagrams and the workshop manual, I have identified the part as the "hose connector", and mine has corroded and a piece of the connector broke off, leaving part of the attachment nipple gone. I tried to connect the hose to what was left, but it doesnt want to stay attached. I found the part on iboats.com with a new gasket, and it looks straightforward enough to install, but I read some posts on iboats that leave me with questions (http://forums.iboats.com/forum/engin...ckup-leaking):

1 - near the top of that forum thread, someone said "You've replaced the gasket beneath the fitting you mentioned? I always have trouble with that gasket, it doesn't like to sit down on the intermediate very well when new, the oring part likes to pop out." Am I missing something? Seems like there's only a gasket and the metal connector, and an O-ring doesnt come into it unless you take something else apart...