Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Marine engine replaced with auto engine-gctid815847

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the forum and to "big" boats in general but I work as a fleet mechanic for a company with both gas and diesel so I have a bit of knowledge in regards to overall repair. My issue is that I bought a 1982 Bayliner 2850 Command Bridge and the original engine was blow and replaced with a Crate 350 car engine. I know there are subtle (and sometimes not so subtle) differences between auto and marine applications so I want to make sure that I am doing things properly before I screw something up. For instance, I would like to perform an oil change but should I use marine or auto oil? My dipstick tube blew out last season, it was just sort of siliconed in the hole without a bracket, and the local boat repair place (that isn't open for another two days, of course) told me that it could be due to excessive pressure due to the engine still having both PCV valves. Is that a "thing"? I feel like a fish out of water with just enough knowledge to really break something so any help would be GREATLY appreciated!

Lisa

First thing i would NOT!!! use that boat until the auto/ma4ine deficiencies are corrected. Not only is it unsafe but also against the law.

You must have a marine carb.

You must have a marine distributor

You must have a marine starter

You must have a marine alternator.

You must have a carburetor flame arrestor.

Those are the legal have to haves!!!

beyond that. Car truck cam probably will be a dog.

If you don't have closed cooling system you need to have brass freeze plugs marine gaskets marine water pump and marine intake manifold.

You or anyone riding with you or at a fuel dock or tied up to you is not safe and could die unless the deficiencies are fixed. If you get stop and inspected you get a nice big ticket.

Sorry if I sound harsh but that is the reality of it.