No crank intermittently-gctid814151

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

No crank intermittently-gctid814151

I have a 1989 Bayliner Cuddy 2051 with a Mercruiser 5.0 lx engine. I have this issue when I want to start the boat, sometimes it starts right up and sometimes it doesn't. When it doesn't start the gauges lurch forward a little bit but there is no cranking at the starter. It seems like it is not able to find neutral. If I move the throttle control back and forth I can get it to eventually crank but it is not the best situation when out on the lake. Any ideas on where to start? We're new to boat ownership but I have extensive car repair experience. Not real great on testing electrical issues though. Your help would be appreciated.

Attached files

There might be an ignition kill switch mounted on the engine near the throttle or shift linkage. There is a cam that open and closes with shift linkage movement, used to kill the ignition for a split second while it goes into and out of gear, to reduce torque while shifting. It might be bad or not mounted properly. Only other thing I can think of is battery connections. Sometimes there is a hard crust built up on the connections. That's an easy fix.! Don't forget the battery switch connections if you have one.
    Brett & Elise, Sammy + Wilson
    New Addition - 2002 Trophy 2002WA FF Optimax 135
    GO HAWKS!

Comment

It's the neutral safety switch.

Shift interrupt switch has nothing to do with this if that is what aluxury is referring to.
      Joon, Kathy, Jaden & Tristan
      Uniflite 42 AC, DD 671N
      93 3058 sold
      92 2855 (day boat)
      91 Fourwinns 205 (lake boat)
      Longbranch WA
      Life is Good

Comment