Stalling issues, 2004 Bayliner 175, Mercruiser 3.0 Alpha One-gctid811973

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Stalling issues, 2004 Bayliner 175, Mercruiser 3.0 Alpha One-gctid811973

Hi all, I'm new to these forums and am having an issue with my boat and thought what better place to ask questions about it!

Last year, I bought a used 2004 bayliner 175 in great shape. Took it out about 6-7 times and all was well. Then near the end of the season, the boat started stalling. It would start and idle just fine, it would go "no wake speed" just fine (throttle at 1/4). But when it comes time to get moving, it would stall out when giving it more throttle. However, if I pushed it (gave it a lot of throttle) it would work through the "bad spot". But you can see how this is annoying as I have to go either "no wake speed" or 30+ mph.. I should also mention this only happens in the water (or under load). On the driveway hooked up to muffs, it is just fine..

I'm new to this and not sure where to look first. I'm pretty mechanically inclined, and would like to solve this on my own.

Notes: took off flame arrestor and hit throttle (with engine off) and see two gas streams shooting into carb, so it seems carb is getting gas.

What could cause an issue like this, especially knowing it runs great if you push past that bad spot in the throttle?

Oh yea, should also mention it stalls when decelerating as well. It is basically impossible to go from high rpm to Idle without stalling..

Thanks in advance guys!!!

Sounds like a fuel delivery problem.

Clogged fuel filter, Clogged vent maybe...try running her with the cap open.

Or hook it up to a clean portable gas can
    Joon, Kathy, Jaden & Tristan
    Uniflite 42 AC, DD 671N
    93 3058 sold
    92 2855 (day boat)
    91 Fourwinns 205 (lake boat)
    Longbranch WA
    Life is Good

Comment