Testing which battery is on which switch setting-gctid808662

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Testing which battery is on which switch setting-gctid808662

After changing out my batteries this past winter, I realized I have no idea which battery switch setting goes to which battery. I have a dual battery set up for my 2455. I assumed, up until now, that switch setting #1 is for the starting battery and #2 was for the house battery but I really don't know given the "fancy" wiring job I inherited with the boat. I went out for my first over night trip ever on the hook the past weekend. Any other overnight has been at a marina somewhere with shore power, so I didn't really think about having to switch to the house battery when the engine isn't running. I want to test to see which battery is on which switch. Being a complete noob on batteries, my idea is to switch to one setting, have someone crank the engine and test the draw on each battery to see which one is being used. Is that a good idea? Is there a better way to test this? Thanks.
    2001 Bayliner Ciera 2455 5.7 Merc MPI, Bravo 3
    2009 Subaru WRX STI
    2017 stick with a nail on the end of it

Victoria, BC

You shouldn't have to test the draw on each battery. If the switch is on battery 1 and the engine cranks, then you know that is your starting batttery. To be sure, move the switch to battery 2 and the engine should not crank, therefore, battery 2 would be your house battery.
    Two C's 1990 3888 MY, 175 Hinos, Hurth 630 Trannys
    Past Commodore Emerald Rose Yacht Club
    Member International Order of the Blue Gavel
    MMSI: 338030604

Comment

"jmcannonball" post=808664 wrote:
      You shouldn't have to test the draw on each battery. If the switch is on battery 1 and the engine cranks, then you know that is your starting batttery. To be sure, move the switch to battery 2 and the engine should not crank, therefore, battery 2 would be your house battery.