Power Assisted Hydraulic Steering?-gctid802373

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Power Assisted Hydraulic Steering?-gctid802373

There was a thread recently about changing from Power Assisted Cable Steering to Power Assisted Hydraulic Steering. Since I already have a complete SeaStar 2-line system stored in my garage (with two steering hubs), I'm thinking about changing my steering over.

Not being that mechanically minded, how would that work? I installed the twin hydraulic steering stations on my Chris Craft, but it was a simple remove and replace. Can someone tell me how the power assisted part works with the hydraulic part?

To what I remember, the hydraulic steering has two hoses connected to a piston. Where is the powered part connected? Photos would be great.

Thanks in advance. Kevin
    "B on D C", is a 1989 2459 Trophy Offshore HT, OMC 5.7L, Cobra OD, Yamaha 15hp kicker. Lots of toys! I'm no mechanic, just a blue water sailer and woodworker who loves deep sea fishing.
    MMSI: 367637220
    HAM: KE7TTR
    TDI tech diver
    BoD Puget Sound Anglers North Olympic Peninsula Chapter
    Kevin

"2850Bounty" post=802384 wrote:
    [color]#000088 wrote:
    Since you have all of the hydraulic steering components, I would suggest removing all PA components, and go with the stand-a-lone hydraulic system.

No more belt driven pump, no supply/return hoses, no fluid cooler, no slave valve to give you any trouble, and the engine does not need to be running for any steering assist. [/color]
    Thanks, Bounty. My intention after reading your response is to remove everything and go completely with the hydraulic system. I read the one post where the guy who mixed them said there was a difference between the engine running and when it was off. Not sure why he'd do that, because my Chris was just as easy to steer even when the engine was off as when it was on.