06 175 won(39)t idle right-gctid800909

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

06 175 won(39)t idle right-gctid800909

So yea when I turn it on the motor shakes and keeps wanting to die and sometimes does. If I turn it on and punch the gas a second and put it back to idle it's perfect. Ideas? First boat so newbie here. Thanks

Welcome to the BOC!

My first inclination is the choke needs some attention and spark plugs. Change the plugs to the latest manufacturer recommendation. Yes, sometime they change. If new plugs don't get it back to normal, go after the choke.
    P/C Pete
    Edmonds Yacht Club (Commodore 1993)
    1988 3818 "GLAUBEN”
    Hino EH700 175 Onan MDKD Genset
    MMSI 367770440

Comment

What motor do you have?

Mike
      2004 Bayliner 285 350 MPI Bravo III
      2007 Bayliner 192 Discovery 3.0 135HP (sold)
      2000 Ciera 2455 sold
      Redmond, Washington
      The one on the Left (Wet) Coast

Comment

3.0 TKS maybe...
        Joon, Kathy, Jaden & Tristan
        Uniflite 42 AC, DD 671N
        93 3058 sold
        92 2855 (day boat)
        91 Fourwinns 205 (lake boat)
        Longbranch WA
        Life is Good

Comment

Yea the 3.0

Comment

I have the 3.0 TKS as well. At start up she is not pretty at all until she warms up. Shakes like like is having a seizure, hisses until the automatic choke settles down and disappears. When you turn the key to start, are you leaving the throttle in about the 1/4 position? Mine has a "stop" in that position which I would assume opens the throttle a bit to get and keep her going thru warm up. I don't know if that "stop" was placed on newer boats.....I have a 2012. Mine will not stall, but until she warms up, she is not happy let me tell you. Once warmed up though, she purrs and is ready to go. I have found though, the more you run that engine and boat under power, the better that engine performs the going forward.....maybe simply burning off build-up, maybe not, but that seems to be the case.