Cobra OD Oil-gctid799811

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cobra OD Oil-gctid799811

I usually have my OMC mech do the maintenance on my boat. However, since it only needs an oil change and OD top-up, I'm doing this one myself.

I just finished the oil change, and lowered the OD.

With a large flat screwdriver, I removed the dipstick. Though there was a slight blackish kind of crusty film on the stick, which rubbed off, but no oil level showed. Poking a piece of wire into the hole, the level appears to be about ¼"-›" below the bottom the dipstick. The oil is brownish, but not as dark as used motor oil. This was more like 2 month old motor oil.

1. Should I be concerned?

2. What oil does it take?

3. Can I add it through the dip stick hole?

Thank you in advance.
    "B on D C", is a 1989 2459 Trophy Offshore HT, OMC 5.7L, Cobra OD, Yamaha 15hp kicker. Lots of toys! I'm no mechanic, just a blue water sailer and woodworker who loves deep sea fishing.
    MMSI: 367637220
    HAM: KE7TTR
    TDI tech diver
    BoD Puget Sound Anglers North Olympic Peninsula Chapter
    Kevin

You should be filling it from the middle hole with the dipstick off and fill until it starts over flowing...When you drain it, if it looks milky it's time to have the drive resealed.

Comment

"ckmeans" post=799815 wrote:
      You should be filling it from the middle hole with the dipstick off and fill until it starts over flowing...When you drain it, if it looks milky it's time to have the drive resealed.
      Is there a reason for that? It was done a year ago, and it's just down a little.

But if I did that and just oil came out, do I drain everything anyway, or just add enough to make it overflow, then drop it to the dipstick level?

Also, what kind of oil does it take? Gear oil, or is there something special for Cobra outdrives?