Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can you eliminate the freshwater system on a bayliner?-gctid393657

Hello,

New to boating and got a great deal on an old 86' Bayliner with a Volvo Penta AQ131A and 275 drive. Got the thing running but now it seems my heat exchanger may be fubar. Can I eliminate the freshwater system and somehow get the boat to cool from the outside water source? The boat will never touch seawater so that is no concern. Seems to me the way to go if your not going to be in saltwater but again I am new to this. I understand car motors pretty well but these marine deals are different. Any advice or help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Oscar

mrbudweiser wrote:
    • 1 wrote:
    • Can I eliminate the freshwater system and somehow get the boat to cool from the outside water source?
    • The boat will never touch seawater so that is no concern.
    • Seems to me the way to go if your not going to be in saltwater but again I am new to this. I understand car motors pretty well but these marine deals are different.

Any advice or help would be greatly appreciated.
    Oscar,
    • 1 wrote:
    • If you're asking about removing the OEM Volvo Penta "Closed Cooling System", short answer, NO!

This engine requires a PH correct coolant.

This PH correct coolant's "heat" is exchanged into the River/Lake/Ocean water...... of which is your "outside water source".
    • The seawater is not the main concern. River/Lake water will also cause issues with internal components that are not designed for incorrect PH coolant.
    • Look on e-Bay, or contact our member Ryan (aka RKCarguy) and ask him to show you his shell & tube system that he has designed for an alternative Heat Exchanger.

Rick E. Gresham, Oregon
    2850 Bounty Sedan Flybridge model
    Twin 280 HP 5.7's w/ Closed Cooling
    Volvo Penta DuoProp Drives
    Kohler 4 CZ Gen Set

Comment

Marine engines aren't really different at all. Gas, air, compression spark and away you go.