Head replacement on 2858-gctid375559

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Head replacement on 2858-gctid375559

I am considering going to an electric head on my 2858. It currently has a Jabsco manual head, and I am wondering if there is a model of electric head that may present the least hassle to install / convert. Has anyone had experience converting to an electric head? Any suggestions greatly appreciated. THANKS

I just finished installing a Jabsco Quiet Flush Household size electric in my 2858. Considering there is no "right" way to do this, I winged it. I'm happy to say that the finished project came out just fine, but it was a long process. I'm not a professional, but I expect better-than-pro results from myself, so it took me awhile. I've been wanting to post a thread in "Completed Projects," so maybe this will motivate me. I took photos the whole way too.

In a nutshell, I replaced the original 1.5" waste line with 1", attached it on top of the 2x4 in front of the fuel tank and covered it with aluminum diamond plate bent at 90 degrees, forming a small step above the waste line. Yeah it took awhile, but worth it. Cleaned up some wiring too. Then I installed the supplied Jabsco rinse pump, fed it from the original thru-hull for the head.

For the toilet itself, first remove the old one, scrape, level and clean the floor mounting space. I got a 27" x 12" x 3/4" piece of Starboard and cut to fit the floor. This took quite a while, perfectionist that I am. This served several purposes, mainly covering the original holes in the floor. Also, the new toilet has the macerator pump at the rear, and for clearance of the angled back wall, it needed to be raised up, so this worked out just right. I'll post a couple finished project photos here to give you an idea...