Lowrance GPS - need classic map-gctid374113

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Lowrance GPS - need classic map-gctid374113

So I'm now an ex-Bayliner owner as I recently bought a bigger boat and it happened not to be a Bayliner. But over the years I've got so much awesome advice on my 2355 I thought I'd try here.

I purchased a 2002 Larson. It came equipped with a Lowrance LCX-16CI sonar/GPS receiver. Sure, it's dated compared with new units and on the Lake of the Ozarks in mid Missouri I probably don't even need it, but I look at it every time I'm at the helm and it looks like it could be helpful in certain circumstances so why not try to get it working well.

I have no experience with a sonar/GPS receiver in a boat. It seems to work perfectly, except there is no map software loaded. So bascially it's a fancy speedometer right now. Luckily, there's a little drawer for the same kind of cards that work in digital cameras, so I figure I can download the software and be off and running. However, when I call for support, I am informed that the maps are no longer available. I am absolutely stunned by this. I can see limiting support or charging for support on out of warranty items, but to not even allow customers to purchase the maps that are essential to make the units even work is completely absurd.

Anybody have any tips on how to obtain? I'll try local dealers but the first one I went to was a knucklehead.

Thanks for the help over the years and any tips would be appreciated.

They're still sold, but expensive. Check http://www.tigergps.com/navionicsclassic.html and email them for exactly what you need.

You're either going to have to shell out half the cost of a new unit for some maps, or find one on the used market. They're nearly useless to everyone now days so if you can find one used it should be CHEAP

Comment

Called that exact shop today and they couldn't sell me one.

Comment