Anyone try a CAST wireless lanyard?-gctid576826

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Anyone try a CAST wireless lanyard?-gctid576826

Since I often fish solo, I am constantly aware of the peril I will face if I fall overboard. AND I HATE LANYARDS!

However, I sourced this one online.

http://www.wirelesslanyard.com

Thinking it was perfect for what I need, I called Maritech and ordered to 'activators' (one for the main and one for the kicker) and 4 fobs, all tuned to the same frequency. Now, if I or one of my fishing buddies falls overboard, whichever motor that's running will immediately quit. Once I'm back onboard, I'm told that I merely shake the water out of the fob and the motor will start.

Does anyone have one of these? They seem like such a -no-brainer to have.
    "B on D C", is a 1989 2459 Trophy Offshore HT, OMC 5.7L, Cobra OD, Yamaha 15hp kicker. Lots of toys! I'm no mechanic, just a blue water sailer and woodworker who loves deep sea fishing.
    MMSI: 367637220
    HAM: KE7TTR
    TDI tech diver
    BoD Puget Sound Anglers North Olympic Peninsula Chapter
    Kevin

I often fly solo also, my biggest concern isn't so much going overboard but getting back on board.

Have you ever tried to swim and catch a boat that is drifting with the wind? Especially a hardtop with the windows closed, it like a parachute.

Where I go, it just ain't going to happen. I tried it once with another person on board, I couldn't come close to swimming as fast as the boat was drifting.

My solution when solo is:

Never leave the helm with the drive in gear,not concerned with shutting off the engine.

Always have my auto inflate vest on.

......and here is my ass lifesaver if I am going to be climbing around the sides or bow or on the swimgrid:

I keep an orange pfd tied to a 30' rope with the other end tied to the boat, I toss it out behind the boat so I have a chance of getting my hands on something attached to the boat.
    " WET EVER "