Volvo Penta information-gctid575470

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Volvo Penta information-gctid575470

I just bought a used 1983 Bayliner capri. Out of all the research that I was able to find, I assume I have an AQ125 with a 270 sterndrive unit. I am totally new at the inboard scene but glad to get away from the outboard.. I have a pic. of really the only indentifying label associated to the engine. Is there anything else a block stamp I am missing or anything else that can confirm what type of setup I have?

I can't tell from the serial numbers. 270 drive sounds about right for the year. We have a member who is a Volvo guru who should be stopping by this thread when he gets back from his vacation in a few days. He'll be able to tell you what you have, when it was made, and what color eyes the guy who made it had.

Comment

Excellent, greatly appreciated. As I am going to change the two boots on the 270 along with carb rebuild, impeller change, belts change, plugs, etc. and knowing exactly what engine (setup) I have would really help. Don't want to take out on first voyage just to be towed back.. lol been there done that when my outboard evinrude broke two gears on the lower unit.. From my reading, this 270 is a lot more reliable as far as propulsion goes. Did have a question about props. A friend of mine said I should get a 4 blade prop to help get the boat moving, was explained in terms I can recognize, like adding more torque to a vehicle but losing top end, which then he said add 2" pitch to compensate. I am ignorant when it comes to boats, I admit. All this about diameter, pitch, slippage, theoretical thrust, is a little daunting. I would like to get other opinions if what he said is true. He does run a boat with a built 454 in it so I assume he knows a little. But my boat is heavy and I haven't even taken it out yet as I want to replace stuff to me that just looks like it's original equipment.

Comment