No announcement yet.

Seeking Thoughts and Advice on 93(39) 2452 fuel tank replacement-gctid367878

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Seeking Thoughts and Advice on 93(39) 2452 fuel tank replacement-gctid367878

Hello, all SurfnTurf here, I am new to this site and new to Bayliners. I used to have a 1977 Searay sedan, but am purchasing a 93' 2452 and yes I'm getting a great deal on it because YES it needs a new Fuel Tank. And YES....I have already read all the related posts here I could find relating to this topic they have all been very helpful, and yes I have seen all of John L's picts really great stuff.

I will be doing this work my self I am a capable mechanic and jack of all trades and frankly love this stuff, doing the work is half the fun for me. But one of the nagging questions I am having that I really could seem to find any discussion on is WHY? replace old fuel tank with Aluminum tank when it seems so problematic? WHY not Poly? what are the pro's and cons have any of you gone with Poly or Plastic fuel tanks?

Also with regard to some of the other methods I saw used such as the liner repair methods, has there been any follow up info as to how well or not so well these worked?

as well as any follow up on NEW tank replacements things that worked better than others such as using the starboard as a spacer between tank and hull vs other materials etc. or anything else one may have done differently now in hindsight.

Basically I'm just trying to compile the wisdom and experience here to determine the best safest final approach to the project. Any thoughts and advice and follow up you all may have I would be truly grateful for. Thanks.

I can't comment on replacing tanks, however I do know Bayliner started using poly tanks in 242 models some time in early 2000's. My 2005 242 has a plastic tank from factory. Its a T shaped 85 US Gallon gasoline tank installed forward of the engine.

Comment