Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to calculate percentage of total horsepower?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to calculate percentage of total horsepower?

I’m new to this idea but I’ve recently viewed a post - I think by Smitty - saying to keep your engines below 60% (maybe it was 70%) total horsepower for maximum longevity of your engines. I originally thought that meant 60 or 70% of maximum rpms, however I don’t think that is correct. Would someone - please explain how to calculate percentage of horsepower? Thank you in advance.
    Todd, Lenore, Ryder and River
    1994 3888
    210 Hino’s with Hurth 630’s
    Cruise Inn

Here is some info from the web.

Mathematically, horsepower equals torque multiplied by rpm. H = T x rpm/5252, where H is horsepower, T is pound-feet, rpm is how fast the engine is spinning, and 5252 is a constant that makes the units jibe.

So, all you have to do is find your engine manufacturer's torque vs rpm chart and use the above formula.

Good luck!
    Retired, computer expert / executive
    Bayliner 285 Cruiser / Mercruiser QSD 4.2L 320 HP Diesel
    Live in the Bay Area, CA, USA, boat in Turkey
    D-Marin @ Turgutreis in Bodrum/Turkey
    [email protected]
    [email protected]

Comment

Zentodd, not exactly sure what engine you have but according to this chart for the W04C-T1 th HP curve is clearly visible. 60% of the available 210HP is 126HP which equates to about 2200 rpm.

https://www.marinepartssupply.com/me...vicemanual.pdf Click image for larger version  Name:	6587A56B-F3B3-4544-80E6-E49BF120BE63.png Views:	0 Size:	805.6 KB ID:	645929
      Jim Gandee
      1989 3888
      Hino 175's
      Fire Escape
      [email protected]
      Alamitos Bay, SoCal

Comment

You guys are awesome! Thank you both!
        Todd, Lenore, Ryder and River
        1994 3888
        210 Hino’s with Hurth 630’s
        Cruise Inn

Comment