Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

5788 Looking to buy, what to look for

Hola...

So we are looking at doing the Great Loop, and to my surprise the 5788 can fit under the Chicago bridges with only small adjustments to the arch components.

That being said, I am looking for buying one on the east coast, as I really don't feel like paying $50K to send one over there, plus they are significantly cheaper on the other coast.

We will be starting the journey in early 2023, but I need to start the process of researching the boats and trying to find out what I am going to be looking at regarding issues with these boats. Main things I want to know are as follows

1. What is the reliability of the MAN engines like. I know that MANs are incredibly well built semi trucks and they tend to be on the same level as Mercedes regarding engine quality but I have ZERO knowledge of them in marine environments.

2. Are all MAN and Cummins options mechanically controlled or are there any models with ECU options available?

3. Are there any specific issues I should be looking at with the fiberglass? Windows? Hatches? Any engineering weak-spots that might be present?

4. What are the major maintenance issues that tend to be overlooked by previous owners?

Thank you all for your help.

SnG Crew
    Ships n Giggles
    1993 Bayliner 4388
    MMSI# 367412710
    Day Island Yacht Club
    Commodore

Are you OK with the 5' draft?
    Northport NY

Comment

• Shipsngiggles
      Shipsngiggles commented
      Editing a comment
      Not too many options with smaller draft in that size... I need at least a 50ft to fit my kids, wife, dog, and bearded dragon... for a year. So I am not really sure I can be picky on the draft. I might have to worry about watching the tides and staying in the channel instead of blindly going wherever I feel like going.