Shore tie

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Shore tie

I am a total newbie for shore ties. What do you use to get to shore? Do you launch the dinghy? I can do that easy enough but then I picture the really nice dinghy banging up against the rocks while I get the shoreline rigged.
    2000 4788 w Cummins 370's, underhulls, swim step hull extension
    12' Rendova center console with 40HP Yamaha
    MV Kia Orana
    Currently Enjoying the PNW

We always used a small spare anchor. Sometimes we brought it to land, sometimes we left it in the shallow water close to shore.
    Simo
    2002 2855 350MPI Bravo III on Lake Champlain -> SOLD!
    Downsized to a couple of kayaks for now.

Comment

Yep - Dink to shore run up the beach through the ring (or around tree to some peoples chagrin) back to the dink and back to the mothership.

Helps if person on the boat can help keep the boat in position while you do it, but also why most recommend a really long beach line so even if boat is drifting off you can make it back and then pull things in.

And yes sometimes it is like going to a large public boat launch with a lounge chair just to watch for entertainment once you are secured.
      1999 Sandpiper Pilothouse - Current
      1989 3888 - 2011-2019, 1985 Contessa - 2005-2011, 1986 21' Trophy 1998-2005
      Nobody gets out alive.

Comment

Purchase an ANCHOR BUDDY for your dink and a pair of water walkers.

The ANCHOR BUDDY is a mushroom acnhor on a long bungee cord. Get ino a foot of water and through the anchor over. Then jump over, stern tie, then pull the dink in and jump in. We have had our for years and our bottom is like new.

Comment

• Woodsea
          Woodsea commented
          Editing a comment