3788 possible purchase

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

3788 possible purchase

Hello, looking at a 3788 with the Cummins 250. My question is do owners with this engine package find the 3788 to be adicatly powered. Also can you share your fuel consumption numbers for the 250hp. Thanks in advance. K
    Kevin & Robyn
    Koppers Kove
    MMSI 338206107
    2001 Bayliner 2452
    5.7 B2 PT BRA3 17p

I will tell you that the biggest issue that I had with moving into a larger boat from our 2859 was the speed issue.
    As much as we want them to, bigger boats, unless they have gigantic engines just do not go as fast as the cabin cruisers thast we are moving from.

As a person who has made the transition, I would recommend that you look at how you intend to use the boat, and the amount of time you have at this stage in your life, and think allot about that.

While I have no hands on experience in a 3788, and I love the interior layout ALLOT, a 37’ hull driven by 500 total horsepower sounds to me like a “semi displacement” setup similar to our 4788 with 660 horsepower. Others will chime in here but I’m guessing that 14-15 knot cruise speeds will be at the top end, just based on the engine size and displacement of the boat.

What I found with our 4788 is that it’s allot more fun, and allot less nerve racking to drive the boat at displacement speeds most of the time. I will suspect that most owners of the larger boats feel the same way, and I suspect that you will as well.

That takes me back to the original issue...speed, vs the time you have, and the distance you want to go.
    Based on our cruising grounds we found that trips that we used to be happy doing in a weekend are just not possble anymore, so we out of necessity adjusted our cruising style.