Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Thinking of moving up, need help researching.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Thinking of moving up, need help researching.

We've enjoyed our entry into boating around the PNW with our 3055 for the past five years. With the admiral retiring later this year we'll have more time to pursue greater adventures in the PNW and beyond. While I'm still several years away from retirement I find myself searching for our final boat. I want to do the research needed now and get up to speed on buying and maintaining a much larger boat. My goal sees us in a 40'-50' loa and I have selected several models I believe suit our needs, many of which are bayliners. Once we're both retired we want to take 2-3 months to cruise to Alaska and explore all the beauties of our spectacular west coast.

As a mechanic by trade I've never owned or worked on a diesel, either auto or marine and want to start researching the different manufacturers for pros, cons, reliability, maintenance schedules/expenses, etc.. My current top pick has Hino 310's but many others have the Cummins and Yanmar.

I see boatdiesel.com is popular but are there other sites available to help?

Can members chime in and share their experience working on, maintenance schedules and the expenses associated with maintaining their own diesels.

Always appreciative of the BOC family knowledge.

Kirk
    Sea Venture
    2000 3055, 5.7/B2, 18x23" props
    Cruising the PNW and beyond.
    DIYC, Riverhouse Marina
    MMSI 316029971

Kirk
    Drinks well with others.

Sprinter,