Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Looking for a 3888 3818 3870 and wondering what are the must haves add on items? Hull extension? Underhulls? Hard Chines? Hard top?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Looking for a 3888 3818 3870 and wondering what are the must haves add on items? Hull extension? Underhulls? Hard Chines? Hard top?

Hello everybody:-)

I'm brand new to BOC but thank you all, for sharing your knowledge and experience. I've learned a lot just reading and reading.

I do have a question about the 38 boats. I'm about to move from a Carver 32 gas to a Bayliner 38xx with diesel. I've considered the 32xx and think it's a great layout and use of space. It's an amazing boat for the price and size but I think the 38xx is the better direction for my growing family. I anticipate looking over the next year or so for a good clean boat. I'll be looking for a boat that is in good+ condition with a high degree of maint. and care. I'll have a survey and an engine survey/analysis prior to purchase.

So what do people think I should value more when looking at boats?

We all want different things based on our location and intended use but the question I have is how to value the expensive add-ons. We live in Portland, Oregon and have a fair amount of boating experience. We currently boat mostly on the Columbia River and love the San Juans and beyond. The boat will live on the Columbia and travel once a year up the outside to the San Juans and with the ultimate goal being Desolation Sound. So seakeeping and efficiency are paramount, and I also know myself, if it's expensive and it doesn't come with the boat, I usually don't upgrade really expensive "want to have" items. I need to get what I need/want when I buy the boat. So what do you guys think are the must-haves?

1. The Hull extension?
    2. Underhulls (I'm not sure what underhulls refers to exactly but i have an idea that someone here can explain that to me - lol), hard chines, spray rails?