3870 Nooby Questions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

3870 Nooby Questions

Hello all. It’s been a while since I’ve posted because the 3870 I put an offer on had no registered title and it took a couple months for the seller to get his paperwork in order. Happy to report it finally sorted itself out and the wife and I spent our first night aboard last night here at the Swantown marina in Olympia. Now I just need to get comfortable with this boat and sort a few things out before we head back home to Victoria, BC, and this is where my questions belong. Remember, I’m a total boat noob so please excuse any daft sounding questions. I’ll just start with a list I guess, there will be plenty more to come:

1. My shower and kitchen sink drain overboard. Is this still legal and normal?

2. I have vaccu-flush toilets. One had stopped flushing. I suspect the system has lost vacuum seal somewhere. Any idea where the bad seal would likely be?

3. My accessory battery will not hold a charge. The engine battery seems strong. Can I cruise back to Victoria with the jumper switch ‘on’ without draining the engine battery or causing some other problem? I’d rather deal with the dead battery at home so I can do it myself. I have no tools or anything with me.

4. My portable water level gauge doesn’t seem to register anything. Any idea where the float sensor for that is at?

5. I’m draining a fair bit of water out the aft bulge pump every day. It seems to be saltwater. Is that normal? I’m talking about a steady stream of water out the port that lasts at least a full minute.

Here's a short list of answers.
    1). Yes
    2) need more info. does the vacuum pump come on ?? Their are a number of "seals"that can cause an air leak.
    3) No I would get a new battery,a Cresent wrench is all you need.
    4). The sending unit is on top of water tank.
    5). Check your Stuffing boxes/shaft logs.my need repacking/ tighting.