Newbie here with a few 4085 Questions-gctid400435

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie here with a few 4085 Questions-gctid400435

Hi everybody, just joined a few minutes ago & have a few questions to ask please

No jeering yet as I am a present Sea Ray owner (340 EC). Am upgrading & have decided against another Sea ray & am searching vigorously for a 42ft Avanti cruiser....that is the boat I want as it is so much boat for the money....the decision is made, so I decided to look for a Bayliner forum & be well armed before the purchase

First of all are there any known specific serious issues or weak spots with the general construction of these boats e.g. stringer rot, water leaks etc

Secondly I have convinced myself I would like diesels as opposed to the 8.2's mainly for fuel consumption the only downside being repair costs if needed. Would love some input on that one

Thirdly I am slightly confused on the length as they come in 40' & 42' but are both labelled a 4085 I think

Lastly a genset is definitely on the want list & I see many of them without which is very disappointing. Looks like the Kohler is the standard for this boat. Have been used to a Quicksilver, how are the Kohlers compared ?

Longshot here....anyone have one for sale? the prices are all over the place as is the equipment. I have seen them in the 60,000 range up to 120,000 for 97-98. Such a huge difference for the same boat. I am in Oakville Ontario Canada & if the right freshwater boat was available I don't mind transporting it up here from the USA as long as its a fresh water boat

Thank you in advance for any input & advice you may have

Greetings and welcome to the nuthouse

Not familiar with a 4085- did you mean 4087 (aft cabin flybridge cruiser)? If so, it's a great boat!

Ours is a diesel- 250 turbo Cummins, straight shafts. No known areas of concerning the 4087 models.