Solar powered motoryacht cruising?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Solar powered motoryacht cruising?

As promised I'm now going to begin a slow barrage of questions that might seem silly to veteran boaters but I'm totally new to this and I'm pretty excited about learning how to set up my new boat as best I can. I've been browsing through the site of a company called Torqeedo that sells electric marine engines. Seriously thinking about getting one of their outboards for my tender so I don't have to bother with gasoline on board. Torqeedo also sells what they call pod drives that are essentially little electric auxiliary motors that can be bolted to the bottom of a boat. I can't help wondering if two of those pod drives bolted to the bottom of a motoryacht might give it a somewhat renewable source of long range cruising power. If you connect some solar panels to the system and maybe also use your genset to charge, do you think you could get maybe 7 knots of straight line travelling? It would be pretty cool if a system like that in conjunction with the primary diesels could extend the range of a motoryacht to allow for longer passages like San Diego to Hawaii, etc. Not something I'll entertain right away, but if $20,000 could get it done maybe five years from now (after technology improves a bit and prices come down) that is something that would really appeal to me. Is this idea pie in the sky? I don't have the knowledge to determine if the Torqeedo pods would generate enough thrust to move a big heavy boat. I do know that some forms of electric conversions have been done on motoryachts but I don't really know how successful they have been.

Have you contacted Torqueedo? They may have data that will help you decide. Also, I suggest that you read these articles. While the propulsion system they tested is different from what you are thinking, the principles are the same:
    https://www.passagemaker.com/technic...e-great-debate