Solution for spider web cracking of gelcoat ????-gctid802708

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Solution for spider web cracking of gelcoat ????-gctid802708

I have some spider web cracking of the gel coat and wondered if there is a good fix for them ????
    EAGLE III
    1992 3288 Bayliner MY
    Victoria BC
    Jan

A good GRP guy will redo with new gelcoat, and you will be amazed. Machine sanded back, new gel applied, probably by roller, then sanded, buffed and polished.
    A lifetime of racing everything from dinghies to world girdlers, but one of those lucky people who just love being afloat. So .... when the body doesn't work like before, it doesn't mean staying ashore.
    Blustery Day
    Bayliner 3288 Motoryacht, 1991.
    Twin Hino 150hp diesels.
    Purchased 23 February 2017

Comment

I have some spider web cracking here and there. I'm going to try Capt Tolleys. It's supposed to be good for that kind of repair. I have no first hand experience yet.
      2000 4788 w Cummins 370's, underhulls, swim step hull extension
      12' Rendova center console with 40HP Yamaha
      MV Kia Orana
      Currently Enjoying the PNW

Comment

I have not used this but wondered if it works.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vihopVW1oIg

Comment

[quote]I have not used this but wondered if it works[quote]

I've tried this stuff and found it to be so-so. I would suggest that it's best used in inconspicuous areas, and certainly not on an open shiny panel.

The old story, if something looks too good to be true...................etc.
          Rob
          Bayliner 5788
          'Merlin V'
          Vancouver BC

Comment

Captain tollys did not work for me on cracks. Leaks: amazing.
            Joe
            2001 5288
            Lucky Liner ll

Comment