DIY boat painting-gctid357138

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

DIY boat painting-gctid357138

Anybody ever taking this task on themself? Is it more difficult than sanding, painting and sealing? Im just a newbie who buys a boat before sea trialling and loves to bite off more than i can chew... any advice?

Planning to will it to the Smithsonian institution as a perfect example of the model?

then don't listen to me, listen to the experts who will tell you yada, yada, yada and either have never done it or have so much money in it they can't ever sell it for close to their investment.

Just want it to look good? Get a good single part paint like Pettits easypoxy, follow the directions and enjoy. And yes, I have done it to two boats.

Let the flaming begin

Comment

Well there is more than one way to paint a boat. I would.say that if you have no experience at it I would either practice doing what ever method you chose on some thing else other than a boat like that.

It can be spray painted and it can be rolled and tipped. Unless you have spraying experience I wouldn't suggest it for a beginner.

There are several types and brands of paint and even for the cheapest you will have $1000+ in materials you wouldn't want to waist it. My paint I bought for my boat is $700 a gallon +expendables like reducer clean up thinner and so on. My boat needs 7 gallons of paint. You do the math.

With out experience me personally wouldn't take a painting job that large on but then it really depends on your skill level and your final expectations.
      1989 Avanti 3450 Sunbridge
      twin 454's
      MV Mar-Y-Sol
      1979 Bayliner Conquest 3150 hardtop ocean express.
      Twin chevy 350's inboard
      Ben- Jamin
      spokane Washington

Comment

boatommy wrote:
        Planning to will it to the Smithsonian institution as a perfect example of the model?