New Fridge Install, Questions on 12V power-gctid354889

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New Fridge Install, Questions on 12V power-gctid354889

Soon I will be installing a new fridge to replace my non-functional one. I am on a tight budget this summer, so I may be getting a 12v super conductor model for under $200. I think the 12v wattage rating was somewhere near 83 watts. I'm still a newbie when it comes to electrical systems so I have a few questions:

-If the fridge stays on for a long time (on the boat's 12v DC wiring) when the boat is on shore power,will this hurt the battery(ies)?

-I want to be able to have an on/off switch that can turn the power off to the fridge for long storage durations (i.e. winter). How do I do this? Note that my fridge compartment currently has two loose 12v wires (red & black) that are always powered.

-I may want to install one or two 12v computer fans as well to help improve circulation around the super conductor. I'd want this connected to the on/off switch as well.

Do I need a terminal block, switch, relay, etc, etc? I'm so confused!

Text Diagram: 12v DC power from boat (from existing fridge) -> On/Off Switch -> (Terminal block/switch/relay/etc???) -> 12v Fridge & 2 12v PC fans.

Any help is much appreciated!

UPDATE: I purchased an Isotherm Cruise CR 65 on March 18th instead of going the route above. See my last post.

The 83W 'fridge will draw about 7A from the batteries. Plan on a continuous draw, if less it won't be much less during the heat of summer.

Those existing always-powered 12V red / black wires HAVE to already be going through a switch / circuit breaker, unless the existing wiring is totally hacked-up.

Provide plenty of free-air ventillation. Use additional 12V fans if required, but they will help to suck down the batteries. Put them on the same circuit as the 'fridge.

Comment