Driving 5 MPH or lower.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Driving 5 MPH or lower.

I'm new to boating as this is my first boat and the first and only boat I've ever driven. I know I am a newbie and my first few times out were, well very interesting. I can get the boat in and out of the water effortlessly now but it was rough and stressful the first few times. I've also struggled with docking the boat but after practicing and watching many videos I have that down pretty well too. The one thing I have an issue with is keeping the boat straight at slow speeds. Once I'm around 7MPH or above I'm good to go, however in no wake zones I really struggle to keep the boat tracking straight. If I hold the wheel straight the bow seems to drift port and stbd and I find myself constantly turning the wheel left to right trying to stay on course and when I look behind me my wake is zig zagged. I'm wondering if this is a normal thing every boater deals with. I try and make very small corrections so I'm not constantly turning the wheel back and forth all the way.

I have taken the boater course through Boater-ED and actually took my time and paid close attention. My wife and I take the boat out as often as we can and I have more than 50 hours of driving time so far. Some of the things I do to mitigate the wandering is keep my load balanced and passengers weight evenly distributed so the boat cruises flat without listing. I also don't allow anyone to move about the boat at slow speeds and that helps a little.

I'm pretty sure my slow speed issues aren't mechanical. I dropped my boat off at a Marina shortly after purchasing it while we were away for a week last month. I had them go through everything to include an engine compression check. They found nothing wrong with the boat and the owner was the person who wet tested it. I was told I have a very well maintained and clean boat in excellent condition.

Any suggestions or is what I'm experiencing typical and normal?