Mileage-gctid352899

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Mileage-gctid352899

I'm new to boating and have some questions about mileage. I have a 2355 with a 5.0 Mercruser eng. With just my wife and me aboard and a small amount of gear, what speed/rpm shouild i run for the best gas mileage and about what range can I expect with the 55 gallon fuel tank? Thank you

Best speed to mileage is usually your comfortable plane speed, I cant for the life of me remember what my 2355 was. TBH lol I forgot what my 3055 is, you can usually get the feel for your boat when shes on plane where shes happy. I'll be able to tell ya in a couple months

When your running hull speed around 6-8mph for my 3055 I do get better mpg, but I am going alot slower of course.

Comment

I always plan on 2 mpg when negotiating reasonable sea conditions. I usually get better, up to 2.7 or so. That's at 3150 rpm and 23.5 mph using 24 pitch SS props. I just touch the trim up and don't use any tabs - she sings. See my signature for boat, power plant and drive difference.
      1999 Ciera 2655 5.7L BIII "Brenda Lou"
      1996 Skeeter 1850DV 175 Mariner 9.9 Mariner. sold, sold, sold
      1975 Lund 14' 25 HP Mercury. sold, sold, sold
      2008 Dodge Ram 2500 4x4 6.7L Turbo diesel Quad Cab
      Green Bay, WI on the Fox River
      South Bay Marina

Comment

Eyeman wrote:
        I always plan on 2 mpg when negotiating reasonable sea conditions. I usually get better, up to 2.7 or so. That's at 3150 rpm and 23.5 mph using 24 pitch SS props. I just touch the trim up and don't use any tabs - she sings. See my signature for boat, power plant and drive difference.
        The best I ever got with my 246 was about 2.5. I think we have the same engine.

How much does your 2655 weigh?
        2007 Discovery 246
        300mpi BIII
        Welcome island Lake Superior

Comment