No announcement yet.

Using Tablet(s) as Chart Plotter/Depth-Fish Finder. How feasible?-gctid351644

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Using Tablet(s) as Chart Plotter/Depth-Fish Finder. How feasible?-gctid351644

So I'm in the market for electronics for my boat. Complete newbie at this. I've seen other threads where folks use tablets (iPAD, Android based) to supplement their electronics. How feasible is it to use them exclusively as chart plotter and depth/fish finder? I downloaded the Navionics app to my Android based smart phone and really liked it. However, as I have no experience whatsoever with using a "real" chart plotter, I have no idea of the limitations of the Navionics when compared to a dedicated unit. Same goes for a depth/fish finder.

What are you guys thoughts (good and bad) on this?

-Jorden

Using an iPad as a plotter is 100% feasible. Depth and other things would be far more challenging. Plotting is easy and I do it; it's the only nav device on my helm. I've done a number of night trips where I have to navigate around small islands and was perfectly comfortable laying out the safe course and then following it at normal cruise speed.

Comment

They are just as good if not better and more up to date IMHO. I do have the iPhone version, iPad version and my Northstar chartplotter for comparison. I have a built-in fancy nav system in my recent $$$ car. My iPhone with navigon kicks it's butt any day. Maps are always updated and so is the program on a regular basis. If you want to update on the dedicated car or boat stuff you are looking at $$ and the PITA that goes with it. The tablet/phone stuff tells you there is an update and you press OK, done deal. Tablet is defiantly better just because of screen size however direct sunlight is not handled very well and they are not waterproof. Still tend to use the Northstar as the main unit but would consider just the iPad if I was starting from scratch.
      Cheers, Hans
      2007 Carver 41 CMY