Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help me dodge the minefield.-gctid351275

Hi there,

I am pretty new to all this,and don't actually own a Bayliner,I am based in the uk,living in Cornwall and currently own a 20ft Norman cabin cruiser.I have only just got back on the water after 35 years,my parents owned a boat when I was younger and I am now 48 and in the position to take up this great pass time again..I am hoping in the near future to purchase a Bayliner possibly the 2455 and I thought what better place to find out as much as possible about this craft than a Bayliner owners club.Has anyone got any advice on what to look out for,?What goes wrong,? best engine etc.Any advise would be great.Thanks. Ian

Welcome aboard !

You came to the right place.

In my humble opinion " MHO " a 5.7L would give you enough power. Drive system some here would go with a Volvo. Some would go with a merc. maybe a Bravo 3.
    Be good, be happy, for tomorrow is promised to no man !

1994 2452, 5.0l, Alpha gen. 2 drive. Sold ! Sold ! Sold !

'86 / 19' Citation cuddy, Merc. 3.0L / 140 hp 86' , stringer drive. Sold ! Sold ! Sold !

Manalapan N.J

Comment

Welcome!

What kind of boating are you looking at doing - fishing, cruising, water skiing, lake, ocean, day trips only, overnighters, week long, etc.

The more info you give, the better opinions will come.

Comment

Jeff H wrote:
        Welcome!

What kind of boating are you looking at doing - fishing, cruising, water skiing, lake, ocean, day trips only, overnighters, week long, etc.

The more info you give, the better opinions will come.
        Welcome to BOC Ian and +1 on what Jeff said.

Also to consider is who will be with you on the boat. Solo cruising, just you and the Admiral (wife), young children, older children, extended family, rowdy friends??? All must be factored into the initial equation or, and trust me on this, "two footitis" will strike you down like lighting.