Brunswickand Bayliner

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Brunswickand Bayliner

I have a thought. Brunswick ixnayed the Bayliner small (under 33') cruisers because "they were cutting into Sea Rays profits". Now that S R is divested from Brunswick, Why can't they bring back the popular models which sold well. The buyers have told them what moves.

I have a degree in Marketing and management. Lets take a scenario. A family is looking for a small cruiser. The are at a boat show and lets say they like a 26' aft cabin. Both Sea Ray and Bayliner have one. Obviously, the S R looks better because it has more "fluff". The SR is 100K and the Bayliner 75K. (Hey, this was in the year 2000). They run the numbers and his credit and he can't qualify for the S R but he can with the Bayliner. SO he buys it.
    This was witnessed my myself when I was looking for a boat.
    Then, Brunswick pulls out the rug from Bayliner. Then the aforementioned family Now will leave the show without buying a boat. as they can't afford the S R .a lot of sales doing this. I wonder if they may be reconsidering now?

In the south this is called shooting yourself in the foot.
    Captharv 2001 2452
    "When the draft of your boat exceeds the depth of water, you are aground"

IMO, they have consistently shot themselves about half way up. It’s very typical, as you recognize Harv, there’s a buyout or merger and the alpha managers decide they know more about the corporate culture and market than the ones who have been right there for years. Next thing the customer knows is the price of that, admittedly for much of the line, entry level boat has gone through the roof, manufacturing has moved and quality is suffering. Then, they take the high end of the product line and try to make it “more valuable” in the eyes of the customer, with higher prices, who goes elsewhere. Go figure.