1988 Bayliner Capri 1900 Cuddy with a 125 Force motor? NEW!-gctid400649

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1988 Bayliner Capri 1900 Cuddy with a 125 Force motor? NEW!-gctid400649

I just got my 1988 Bayliner Capri registered today, and I think what I put in the thread is the right kind I have. I'm not 100% sure though, as I got it for free with no owners manual and very little paperwork.

I am new to boating and really don't know too much about my new boat. For starters does anyone know how many gallons the gas tank holds? Want to make sure I put the right oil mixture in.

Also any other advice that I should be aware of or important things to remember for the first time I taker her out would be helpful.

Thanks . . . there are some pics of the boat on my profile if y'all want to check out the beauty first hand.

Welcome

For the mixture, the best way to do it is to pick up a couple 5 gallon gas cans and premix the fuel/oil. You can use any type of siphon hose to get it in the boat. Mine has a little copper fitting on the end with a glass ball inside it, you just shake it up and down a bit to get the siphon created to transfer fuel out of the gas can. I have no idea how large the gas tank is though, but I know one way to find out Run it till it's empty, then fill 'er up to the brim.

Easier way is to buy gas cans and siphon all the gas out, then refill it

Comment

Thanks for the reply.I think the tank is almost completely empty. The boat sat in storage for the last four years, but I think the boat shop put a little in just to get the motor running. I know the mixture is suppose to be 50:1 but was not sure how many gallons the tank can hold.So far from my research of similar models and years I think the tank should hold somewhere around the 25-28 gallon area but I will find out soon enough. Maybe I should buy a manual.

[img]/media/kunena/attachments/vb/704529=29770-IMAG0438.jpg[/img]

[img]/media/kunena/attachments/vb/704529=29771-IMAG0439.jpg[/img]